week 3 reflection

Which emerging pedagogy appeals most to you, and might be most useful for your classroom and students? Why?

The question for this week was which emerging pedagogy appeals to me most. I have learned that I am familiar with MOOCs without even realizing it. I found out in the twitter session that I have taken a MOOC, but it seemed like I was going about it in a way of trying to survive the class. I did learn about how to research in my classroom and it did enhance my teaching along with parent/student involvement.

I read in coetail.com about how MOOCs can be taught alongside the class as the student learns, the teacher learns. I asked around, and my son said his HS teacher is taking a MOOC with them! He said the teacher takes the test, does the assignments, and they help each other out. I think that’s cool, and I would be willing to find places where I can fit that in my k-8 classroom!

I also read on twitter about Khan Academy so I got a teacher account and since my daughter is with me in Juneau at the UAS campus, I am in the process of watching her go on missions in math to see how it might work for my students in Oscarville this coming fall. I am excited to see how interactive this site is for using it as an open learning center in my classroom! (Side note: I was traveling this week, so my blog and responses are not up to par, but I’m settled here for now.)

In my classroom, last week, I was so into the blended approach, thinking that may be the way to go with adding technology to my classroom. @Jessica Ortiz shared about the Station Rotation Model where a teacher is part of a classroom rotation and the other parts are in computer programs that enhance the learning in the classroom. My school offers a variation of this in math especially because I teach four grades and the students meet with me for 20 minutes where I give specific instruction, then they have paper and pencil practice for the concept we are learning about, and then they have a self-pace program offered by the school district to match their ability levels. We offer dreambox to the younger students and ALEKS math to the older students. I have personally seen the effectiveness of these programs because it give specialized instruction in these methods.

At home, there are so many reasons why flipped classrooms won’t work: bandwidth, blocked video streaming sites, limited internet access at home, internet access that is too slow to load anything, to not even computers for personal use. I could see the advantages of this if it did work: students can see a different instructional approach to explain concepts, active engagement, and clarifications done in class with meaningful activities. I love the part about getting the background information in on students’ time! That would be awesome, but it would also mean the teacher would have so much to plan and prep for!

Thanks to our PLC and twitter for giving me more information and closing out this week with the deeper understanding of flipped classrooms and MOOCs!

Leave a Reply

