MineCraft: What I’ve learned and how I’d apply to my students

Believe me, I don’t condone very many games in my classroom unless they are visibly educational. I didn’t think that MineCraft was very educationally relevant until I started doing the research around the subject matter. It requires strategy, spacial reasoning, and math skills.

I had my 9 year old daughter show me what she likes to play on MineCraft so she set up a world for me in the creative section on her IPad. She showed me how to build a house, and while she was, she built a 28 by 28 foot home for me by 6 stacks high using a pattern. While she did this, she was multiplying, using spacial reasoning, and figuring out a quick pattern while she talked me through the measurements. In my observation, I saw that I might assign some measurement skills in building homes with rooms, and even building city blocks with exact perimeters and areas as math extensions. She said that people can people could work together as well, so that also brought me to the conclusion that I can use this creative section to have students collaborate with each other to build a community infrastructure in math as homework since they consider building homes fun and building their worlds.

She said her personal world has a house that she’s built with rooms and much bigger than mine. This might be fun homework!

I didn’t get a chance to see the survival mode because our internet service went down for a few days, and the signal strength comes and goes. I’m not having much luck with internet access from home this summer which is  a bummer and a hindrance to any kind of work lately.

In my research, I learned about the way MineCraft uses tools to survive and build an alternate universe where a person must sustain themselves to live. I think I would limit my time with MineCraft to math in the study of measurement, area, perimeter, multiplication, and patterns for homework and after school extension activities.

2 thoughts on “MineCraft: What I’ve learned and how I’d apply to my students

  1. I think it is cool that so many posts I have read indicate parents asking their children why Minecraft? Definitely student centered learning. I doubt many students outside of the classroom think about how to calculate how they could build, they just build. It is up to us as educators to help them make the connection between the game and math, reading and history. Nice post, I don’t think I would use survival mode either. Just the basics – measurement, area, perimeter, multiplication, and patterns.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

